Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education.

There is little doubt that a sport is beneficial to academic performance, and it plays a crucial role in education. Nevertheless, some people argue that physical education is inessential as it will waste time and resources. Personally, I firmly believe that athletic participation is indispensable because it will teach students some soft skills. On the one hand, sports activities are considered to be harmful to teenagers’ educational outcomes because of less time and money allocated for studying. To be specific, some parents think that academic subjects may ensure their children’s well-paid jobs in the future. Consequently, they would rather that students pay exclusive attention to learning these subjects instead of playing sports. In other words, should physical education be put in the curriculum, the amount of time devoted to sports cannot be used for studying, which may be detrimental to their academic performance. Additionally, schools may invest money in sporting equipment rather than teaching one; hence, students will not have the best learning environment. On the other hand, athletic participation at schools is an opportunity for adolescents acquire essential skills. While playing team sports, they can practice teamwork and communication. For example, to be a good football team, they need to support one another and communicate to understand their teammates. Additionally, sports help teenagers develop ways to cope with failure. If they lose a competition, they will learn to overcome disappointment and do more practice. Therefore, physical education teaches them how to deal with unpleasant experiences as well as being industrious. These lessons definitely play a leading role in their future success. In conclusion, though less time and resources will be spent in academic study, playing sports offer youngsters' chances to cultivate practical skills. My view is that students should be encouraged to participate in physical activities more to learn useful lessons.