Some people believe that government should increase the number of sports facilities to improve public health, while other believe this has little effect and we need other measures to improve it. Discuss and give your opinion?

Some people hold a view that the construction of more fitness centers will improve the well-being of general public, while others believe that this is not an effective approach. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the number of sport centres should be increased by the authority. The first reason is due to the lack of sports facilities that hinders people from taking physical exercise on a daily basis. Therefore, a rise in the number of fitness centres can meet the demand for sport activities of people of all ages as they can train in a nearby center. Moreover, since these places are fully equipped with modern facilities and machines, this will create a favourable condition for gym goers to train in a more efficient way. They could also invite friends or relatives to join gym activities with them, which build up the habit of taking regular exercise. On the other hand, I believe that this measure has little impact on enhancing people’s health. It is a fact that only a minority of people utilize facilities at sports centres to keep fit, which means the vast majority of people do not benefit from this programme. Furthermore, modern diseases are triggered by various factors, such as eating unhealthy food and neglecting regular checkups. Hence, it is recommended that governments and health authorities put health education among the masses high on their agenda and raise public awareness on health issues. This can be accomplished by delivering information on how to lead a healthy lifestyle to every household, and putting stringent regulations on the fast food industry. In conclusion, I believe that there is no need to increase the number of sports facilities in order to improve people’s health conditions. There are numerous better measures to help some people to establish an active lifestyle.