Some people believe that educational success is based on good teachers and others believe that it depends on students' attitudes.

Some people think that scholastic achievement is based upon qualified mentors while others think it is derived from individual efforts. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then give my perspective on the matter. On one side of the arguments, there are some people who argue the benefits of qualified instructors considerably outweigh individual efforts. The main reason for believing this is that satisfactory teachers know where to focus on learning in the short term to get the best result. It is also possible to say they can provide the most effective comprehension for students in some fields. A good illustration of this is when I studied English in South Korea, good teachers always emphasized the importance of having actual English conversations than reading grammar books. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, people can be successful by studying themselves. People often believe this opinion because they believe students must stand themselves in the long run even though they started learning theory with a bit of help. A second point is that there have been no always good teachers for everyone. A particularly good example here is that the director who nurtured a world-class footballer might be the worst for other footballers. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that individual efforts are more demanding than being taught by great teachers because students can make a difference themselves and 'good' mentors cannot be 'good' for everyone. Given this situation, it is recommendable for students to have a regular self-education time every day, thinking of what methods can be the best suited to them.