Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers, while others believe that students’ attitudes are important.

It could be argued that education has enjoyed a lot of achievements by taking certain factors in account. While some has ascribed the academic success to mentee’s perspectives and viewpoint, others attributed it to mentor’s skills and abilities. Both sides of the argument present rational ideas, which will be elaborated, followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, the proponents of the first claim assert that a motivated student can find the way for excelling at studies. To begin with, since the vast majority of materials have been designed in a way that provide learners guidance and support. That is to say, reading online sources, students would gain the ability to think critically and make judicious decisions as well. For instance, when tackling a challenge or being faced with a dilemma in the study, these learners are more likely to put determination in their studies. Moreover, students’ attitude toward academic progress appears to be a bedrock principle of acquiring new competencies. This in turn has a far-reaching positive impact on their performance, forming a can-do mentality in the long run. On the other hand, others put forward the argument that teachers’ roles are by no means negligible. The most compelling reason justifying the assertion is that the academic achievements require guidance of highly-qualified teachers for forming a well-structured curriculum. In other words, they can motivate reluctant students to participate actively in the class. More specifically, students can acquire special expertise which is useful for their academic progress by the help of teachers. A good illustration of this is providing feedback and analyzing errors, which can give them an insight in their academic education. Furthermore, the pivot roles of teachers cannot be ignored; all the online materials failed to provide learners a thought-provoking skill. To conclude, there are logical points on both sides; however, I am of the opinion that students’ achievements is mainly driven on teachers’ efforts and skills. This is because they provide the opportunity to build up other skills instead of one aspect of their academic life.