Some people believe that construction of new public building such as museums, town halls and sporting facilities is more important than renovation of the existing ones, while others disagree.

It is often debated whether we should construct new museums, city-centres, and sports clubs or restore the contemporary ones. However, in my opinion, old historic buildings are county’s heritage and should be kept alive. On the one hand, some people agree that with the advancement in the field of technology, construction of modern buildings will produce less waste and use less energy. As a result it reduces our dependence on the natural resources. Furthermore, modern insulators maintain and regulate same temperature for longer durations. Rain and waste water could be purified in-house and utilized for non-drinking purposes, such as flushing the toilets. Solar and wind power plants could be used to generate electricity. In addition they also think that, these advantages of building new public centres will be more cost-efficient in the long run. Conversely, there are some people who believe that historic buildings should be preserved. I agree with this statement because these heritage buildings are the considered as a refine piece of art and give character to the cities. They also tell us about lifestyle and history of our ancestors. Also, some cities are recognised for their architectural symbols. For instance, Egypt is famous for its pyramids. In fact these attractions aid to generate revenue through tourism. Consequently, the government should invest in regular repairs and maintenance of such buildings. Moreover, new buildings should be designed to compliment them. In conclusion, although there is a need to conserve natural resources by constructing energy-efficient buildings, I believe historic buildings are our inheritance and should be valued.