Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

In recent times, parents are more conscious about the development of their adolescents. They opine that the free time activities of the pupils must be inclined to their academics rather than wasting their time in recreational activity. I partially disagree with the above notion and supporting arguments are discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the most important reason to introduce creative activities to pupils during their leisure time is to provide them all around development. Due to non-academic activities such as music, dance and sports would develop many important skills, which could not be taught by lectures and books. For instance, the children can learn the importance of teamwork and time by playing a football match. Moreover, the recreational activity during the leisure will help the students to get a break from their monotonous study and it works as a stress buster for them. Thus, apart from educational work, the sports and creative work will contribute to the personality development of the adolescents. Furthermore, to develop confidence and independent thinking some activity such as painting and singing are essential for the pupils. Consequently, the attraction of a child towards the art enhances his imaginative power, which will make a positive impact on his academics. For example, the researchers had surveyed that the children having good painting skills consists of good handwritings. Lastly, nowadays, many youngsters are suffering from obesity. To prevent these dieses to the young generation, they must be motivated towards athletics and regular exercise during free time. To conclude, the leisure activities of the youngsters play a vital role in their academic and personal development. In my view, the adolescents must be motivated for recreational activities during their free time. The educational institutes have to spread awareness to the society about the importance of such activity.