Some people believe that children under age 10 should be given their own interest subject, while others believe that should be given regular subjects.

People’s opinions differ as to what subjects children under age 10 should learn. While it seems reasonable to allow young students to study what interests them, I believe that it is essential to offer primary students regular subjects. Advocates of tailoring school curriculum to students’ interests argue that it is an efficient way to achieve youngsters’ potential. Interests can motivate learners to gain a deeper understanding of certain subjects and become successful in relevant areas. For example, Albert Einstein, the eminent scientist, had been keen on physics since childhood and he ignored all other subjects to focus on studying the concepts and theories of this subject. This helped him build a strong career as well as serve the humanity with his theory of relativity. However, I would agree with those who believe that regular subjects should be given to children under 10. Firstly, compulsory courses play an important role in developing young students’ basic life skills. If children were allowed to avoid core subjects like mathematics and language, they would end up failing to read, write and calculate, meaning that they can hardly pursue their studies or find a job in modern society. Secondly, exposure to a variety of subjects enables young students to make a wise decision about their careers. Primary students’ interests may constantly change because of their immaturity. Learning different courses not only broadens youngsters’ horizon, but also offers them the opportunity to alter their choices in the professions. In conclusion, although focusing on interested subjects can help children to fulfil their potential, my own view is that learning regular subjects are crucial in preparing young people for the future.