Some people believe that arts (such as painting and music) do not improve people’s life therefore government should not spend money on it. To that extent

Whether art and artists should receive government funding has always been a topic of debate. Some people argue that the government should spend its money on more important things like health and education instead of sponsoring artists and art events, due to the fact that it has a negligible effect on people’s life. I emphatically disagree with this notion. In my opinion, it is important to spend on art, because of the profits that can provide this sector. It has to be taken into account that, even if artists do not build a bridge or thrive educational system of government, they still contribute to society in their own way and at their own pace. Music, for example, soothes the mind. As it is proved by psychologists of John Hopkins University, listening to music is the best treatment for people with social issues such as isolation, depression, apathy. Moreover, it is the favorite pastime of busy professionals who lead extremely stressed out lives. Various genre of songs assists them to tackle with a daily routine and enjoy themselves and take pleasure in it at the end of the tough day. In other words, by supporting music and musicians, the government is indirectly helping the emotional well being of its people. Furthermore, dancers enthralled the audience with their performance. Cultural programs like music and dance, draw a large audience and generate money. By simply organizing such events for art lovers and tourists, the government can not only help budding artists who need an avenue to showcase their talent, but also generate revenue that can be used for developing other sectors. To conclude, I believe that art should not be neglected. The government must earmark a small portion of its revenue for the promotion of arts because arts generate jobs and help the society on the whole.