In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

In a capitalistic and consumistic world as ours, money and excess are our culture: world’s development is going more and more faster and we have learnt to give the same importance to objects and human being: as us we have been learning they only have one life. Even if we do not accept these, we already know this: objects have many lives. Consequently, we are used to buy more often something new and this has brought to consider shopping no longer a need, but a pleasure. From my perspective, shopping as an hobby is not quite a positive trend, but I believe it is a directly consequence of our consumistic culture. In the past it was a routine: this means that tou went to shopping only when you needed it, without wasting (or at least not as nowdays). On the contrary, as it has became an hobby, is a pleasure activity than can be done whenever you want. Everytime a necessity turn into an hobby is essential to be careful, and food addiction is the perfect instance. When this happens, might be difficult to fell guilty, or even aware of your addiction, because you are used to think it is needed and start creating excuses. Nowadays, it can be even more dangerous because is possible to shopping everywhere: on your smartphone, tablet, computer, television, you do not even need to move from your sofa. Moreover, considering that we are facing an environment and climatic crisis due to our bad and reckless behaviour, is vital to change our habits: minimal, needed and aware shopping. In summary, a great attention has to be given on what we consider our hobbies in order to find something that besides being funny, enjoing or relaxting, is healty too.