Some people believe arts such as painting and music cannot directly improve the quality of people's lives so that government money should be spent on other things.

The issue of whether to spend one’s hard earned wages on attending expensive football, rugby or baseball matches or other exclusive diversions as opposed using it more wisely and prudently has become a matter of concern for many. Critics argue that such frivolity is a misuse of precious fund, however, I personally believe the opposite. This essay will discuss why the benefits of attending sports or cultural occasions are worth more than the actual ticket price by using examples taken from the Harvard Business Review and the Woodstock Festival. On the one hand, those festival goers and sports fans who attend concerts, gigs, matches or athletic competitions happily extol the virtues of these on their overall well-being, both physical and mental. The main reason for this is twofold, firstly by watching, participating and enjoying a game people’s overactive stress level can be radically reduced. Secondly, many such important and well-respected events have become a noteworthy opportunity for socializing or networking. For example, a recent article published by the Harvard Business Review showed that key, ambitious top executives in the 500 Fortune companies had invested in tickets for basketball games not only for themselves, but for their clients aiming to seek distraction and amusement while entertaining and nurturing future business contacts. Therefore, although it could be suggested that the high price of ticket sales has been exacerbated by powerful corporate or event organizers with sky high budgets, there is no doubt of the positive spin- offs in health and business. On the other hand, if money is no object, then there is overwhelming evidence that going to festivals, attending concerts or investing in experiences is a growing trend which is appreciated because of its ability to build fond and durable memories which last a lifetime and become part of a family’s history. An example of this was the mythical Woodstock music festival in 1969, which was a peaceful milestone witnessed by thousands of people who have afforded it legendary status. Thus, the emotional value of such events cannot be overstated. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that despite the frequent prohibitively high prices of attending sports and cultural events, doing so can be enormously positive and justifiable for the benefits it brings to those who are there. From the significant growth in richly diverse Festivals worldwide, it could be predicted that in the future this kind of events will continue to grow in popularity as people elect to spend their earnings on experiences rather than in material goods.