Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Few individuals are of view that supporting the youth to have their own preference regarding personal things can probably create a community that place a high regard on themselves, while others are convinced that it is imperative that children should be involved in decision making especially if it will impacte their lives. Both sides of this argument will be placed under careful scrutiny in this essay. In my opinion, I strongly acknowledge the point that allows independence on children which will help them to grow as responsible citizens. To begin with, a portion of the population believes that unsupervised freedom can lead to a negative attitude. It is common knowledge that the young ones are generally vulnerable individuals, so a selfish character is likely be developed if they will follow a mindset that everything is just about them. For instance, in terms of food preference, if a child is raised in an environment where parents will give in to the request of their offstring, then that practice will result to an unpleasant outlook in life. On the other hand, it is imperative that children should be allowed to follow their own instincts. That way, they will be able to explore their emotions or eventually be an asset to the society. Like in the case of a child who was brought up in a household that allows balance in many aspects of life that allows the child to clothe in style, but insisting control on matters that they do not fully understand. In that sense, I support the view of this part of the population that implementing some form of freedom is necessary. To summarize, I certainly acknowledge that it is advantageous for the young generation to be given the leniency on things that influence their personal development because it will help them to mature as dependable individuals.