Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea while others disagree strongly Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion

It is an undeniable fact that crime is one of the major issues being faced by the world these days. It is seen that a large number of criminals continue committing crimes, soon after they are released from the jail, once their punishment period ends. There are a few reasons behind this problem, some of which are covered in this essay. And their possible solutions are also suggested. Firstly, it is the thought process of the criminals that urges them to continue spreading terror and disharmony in the society. For example, multiple studies have been conducted on the serial killers, showing that their psychology and the feeling of happiness that they gain after killing someone, forces them to continue this habit. This, however, can be addressed, if during the time that these killers spend behind the bars, psychologists and psychiatrists are recruited to offer them proper treatment. This would prove to be extremely beneficial in reshaping their minds and would help them stay away from this gruesome act. Secondly, unemployment and poverty faced by the people, especially those living in the underdeveloped countries, adds an important contribution to the rising crime rate. For instance, in countries like Pakistan and Brazil, when prisoners are set free from the lock ups and they try to change themselves by earning the money through the proper means, the lack of jobs that they face pulls them back to the crimes like robbery, thievery and pick pocketing, in order to fulfil the needs of themselves and their families. But, if the governments of these countries offer more job opportunities, especially for the people who are neither well educated nor possess extraordinary skills, this menace of crime could be possibly controlled. To conclude, if the prisoners are provided with adequate psychological treatment during their sentence period, their pursuance to commit crimes could be decreased. Furthermore, if the state takes measures to provide the working places, particularly by promoting small businesses, the people would not need to turn themselves into criminals, in order to earn their livelihood.