Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

There are arguments that students who graduated from high school should have a year break before enrolling in college or university as it will give them several opportunities and advantages. However, other individuals believe that students must have a continuous education. It seems reasonable to argue that a year break between secondary and tertiary education is not a reasonable perspective. Primarily, it is often said that if a student decided to give himself a one year vacation before pursuing the higher education, he or she might b able to gain work experiences. Obviously, the student can use the experiences once he or she applied as a professional employee in a certain institution. This is because most of employers often seek workers who have numerous work experiences and credentials. Linked to this is the fact that every high school graduate student has encountered the pressure of studying difficult subjects such as geometry and physics. Thus, a year break will give the student a chance to indulge in his or her desired activities. Understandably, the schedule in some high schools consumes most of the students’ time, which could have been spent on relaxation or hobbies. Besides, the year gap could be used to travel extensively and that would be an excellent opportunity for them to gather firsthand experience about the different cultures and countries. Students who get practical job experience can learn money management and learn to appreciate the value of money. The experience gathered from job and travel often helps them to excel in their academic studies when they start their academic years in university. However, it cannot be denied that students may find it difficult to adjust to the lessons and topics being discussed at the primary level in college. One major reason of this is that the students could forget the knowledge they have learned during their high school days. As can be expected, in college, some professors appear to start at basic subjects, such as algebra and English, in order to help the students adapt to the level of difficulty. In addition to this, the students could be enticed to abandon their studies because they might think that the salaries in their temporary occupations are enough to supplement their financial needs. For instance, some students in the Philippines are attracted by the higher salaries offered in non-skilled jobs, which make them sacrifice their education. In conclusion, I am convinced that a year break must not be encouraged to every high school graduate student due to the fact that it may ruin the student’s education. It is very likely that all students will procure better jobs which offer a higher salary if they finish their education.