Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment.

It is widely argued that due to increased fees and less number of job opportunities, universities should offer more technical and medical courses instead of art, history, and philosophy. I strongly disagree with this view. From my point of view, art and history are vital for our society. This essay will elaborate on the facts to support the stated opinion. To begin with, even though technical and medical fields are more in demand and they have lucrative job offers, but there are numerous people who are more keen on learning art, history, and literature. By eliminating these fields from the education system, universities would deprive people of learning their choice of field. Furthermore, students should be provided with equal opportunities to explore all majors. Hence, they can decide later which stream is more suitable for them. For example, students have to study subjects such as Maths, Science, and Art up to a certain level in high school, afterward they can elect their stream based upon their interest and performance. Further, there is a huge scope of improvement in the preservation of libraries and museums, moreover, the studies of history empower us to be prepared for the future and learn from our past mistakes. Similarly, arts and other traditional subjects allow us to learn to appreciate life. For instance, we revere Van Gauge and Leonardo da Vinci as much as we admire Sir Isaac Newton and Einstein. The world needs great artists and historian no less than it needs scientists and technicians. Thus the government should not neglect the fact that without art and history major there will be no people to work with books and paintings. In addition to this, the government should encourage people to work in art and history fields, also the government should increase the number of job openings in these fields so that people are motivated to pursue their career in non-technical fields. In conclusion, Art and History are equally as important as technology and science. To protect our art and culture, we need more people with specialization in these fields as well. The government and the educational institutes must ensure the future prospectus of art and history in order to keep these streams alive.