Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give advantage for both and your point of view.

Many children are involved in a variety of salaried work in many countries. While some people think it is completely wrong, others believe that it is better for their work experience, and vital for becoming responsible adults. However, I would argue that paid work helps children to learn and become responsible people. One of the possible reasons why some believe that paid work in children is wrong, is that they could be exposed to occupational hazards while working. Some of the places where children are permitted to work include; nightclubs, or construction sites. Most of the time, children are usually not matured enough to handle the dangers of working in these places. For example, a child could get beaten up during a fight at the night club, or get injured while lifting heavy construction equipments. Also, children are usually paid lesser than adults. This might make employers want to employ more children in order to maximise profit, thus, promoting child labour. However, I believe that making children do some form of work with pay, helps them to become responsible people and gives them experience. When children engage in this form of work and get paid, they can understand the value of money and learn how to spend responsibly. Furthermore, when children are involved in some work, especially during the holidays, it keeps them busy and off the streets. For instance, during the summer, teenagers could work as a salesgirl or sales boy in a store, instead of partying during this period. In conclusion, while some people feel it is wrong to encourage children to do some paid work, I am of the opinion that paid work helps children to become responsible with money, reduce the incidence of irresponsible behaviour and help them to build a good work experience.