Some people believe online reading materials should be only used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used.

Enormous amounts of internet access made people to believe in online reading and also they strongly suggest that it is a good way for children to learn, but others believe that the hard copies of books should be used. In the following paragraph I will provide both points and give my personal opinion. Certainly, online materials can be used anywhere and anytime. It makes children more time to read while doing other activities like travelling. In electronic copies of books, the words are connected with some links such as dictionary, meaning of the word. In this way, they can get to know the meaning of that particular word. And also students are attracted towards colourful and easy access online materials. Nevertheless, while spending more time on reading online materials, it creates an impact on children's health. But that will not be the case while reading in printed materials. For instance, online reading can cause eye strain or neck stiffness. By reading in printed materials, children can stay away from technology a few hours a day. The major disadvantages of printed materials, we cannot get the meaning of unknown words and less environmentally friendly. At the conclusion, when comparing online reading with printed materials, online reading is more environmentally friendly, colourful, attractive and interactive. I personally believe that online readers should be used by children to learn to read.