Some people believe online materials should only be used for children to learn to read. while other believe only printed reading materials should be used.

Certain individuals assert that only online books should be used to teach school children to read, while others believe that touchable materials should be used. Each method of teaching has its advantages and drawbacks. As we live in an era of technology, computers are comfortable, that is why online materials are better. However, computers may cause problems with sight; as it is printed, it is much better in use. I definitely believe that both methods can be used, depending on the age of students. Now, we live in the millennium of technology, people have access to all possible information. With a single click of a mouse, we can have access to various information on the Internet. Especially, when we use the Internet, it becomes much easier to have access to books, which may help gain information about different topics. But for school children, who start to learn to read, it may be difficult to read from the computer and use it, because now, computers do not have special properties, guides for the exploitation of them by children. Also, computers may cause different problems connected with eye vision. According to the research made by scientists from Britain, computers produce a special kind of radiation that may cause problems with health, such as blindness or even cancer. As printed books and materials are touchable, it is more convenient to use them. Although they are not easy in transportation, the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, printed books are not able to cause problems with health. Printed materials can contribute to the good academic performance of children. They can internalize the target material better and then use their knowledge in different areas of life. For elementary school students, it is one of the best ways to teach them how to read. In my personal opinion, the two methods mentioned above can be used as a tool for teaching children how to read. It depends on the age and health of the student. As it was mentioned above, computers may cause difficulties in usage. Also, at an early age, it will be hard for children to read and understand what they have read. In other words, students should use computers when they only learn how to read. But if the student is mature enough to use the computer, it will be easier for him or her to internalize the targeted material. In this case, children should take into consideration their physical properties, such as eyesight, to determine what method of learning to use. To conclude, as it was mentioned above, children should choose what tool to use to learn how to read. Also, children should take into consideration their age and their physical abilities.