Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The wealth of a nation is dependent on the state of mind of its citizens. There is a saying that goes thus; "A healthy man is a wealthy man". I strongly agree that health services should be made free for the citizens of everything country. The percentage of dependents in a country is on the rise compared to the independent. A country where its citizens pay taxes and carry out their due deligence to ensure that law and order of its country is upheld should in turn give it's citizenry the benefit of a free health care. It is saddening to hear that a child dies just because his/her parent could not afford health care bills that are not up to thousands of Naira. It is unfair to the human rights of a human who was involved in an accident to be left to die because there was nobody to foot his/her medical bills. We have thousands of governmental and non governmental organisations who do not carry out their corporate social responsibilities simply because they have the power to boycott the system. Their organisations are located in the communities of the "poor masses" who can barely feed themselves and yet they turn the other way and let them die. These people opened their communities/homes to them without conditions; it is only just that they get free health care to preserve their generation. If the masses cannot access healthcare and they keep dying, their number reduces and the country gradually crumbles to the ground. The masses are the people who make a country and when they are neglected then there is no country. If 80% of the masses who ought to grow food crops via farming, building houses, road construction, control law and order, nurture the growing generations are all hunted by health related crisis, who then is left to grow the economy of such a country? The introduction of free health care in some sectors of health in Nigeria has tremendously reduced the infant mortality rate. The government in partnership with some of its agencies put in place a system where all babies are given vaccines for free. One of such vaccines that drastically reduced infant/child mortality is the Polio vaccine which is tagged "Kick Polio Out" campaign. This program has been ongoing for a couple of years now. It is safe to say that if the program wasn't set to action, the number of mortalities would have been recorded in millions if not billions, reasons being that the majority of children affected by polio are the ones birthed by malnourished mothers who couldn't afford health care through their term of pregnancy. A nation is termed powerful when the well being of its people becomes its sole mandate.