News stories on TV and newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

News and articles on television channels or newspapers need to be both attractive and easily understandable by almost all audiences. To achieve this goal, publishers often add some images to their written text. However, it is questionable whether pictures or words are more efficient. Newspaper writers, many years ago, realized that, if they immerse some appropriate illustrations into articles, people will be dramatically more attracted and persuaded to buy their publications. They also found their stories are incredibly more understandable when they add images. For example, when a newspaper aims to write a news story about an accident, it is much better to add some photos of its place. This can help readers to imagine the story while reading. Nowadays, almost all printable media, including newspapers, magazines, and even websites use this technique as an unwritten law to boost their sales. Although, people may be initially more interested in pictures, the importance of words should not be underestimated. In fact, the aim of included pictures is to support the text. For instance, an image in a newspaper with a weak description, probably, cannot satisfy readers, since they do not understand the belonged story. Nevertheless, plain texts are not able to attract readers, even if they include interesting content. Therefore a contributing of texts and illustrations usually can make the most effective news stories. Thus both of them are equally important to make an interesting and perceivable passage. To sum up, almost all news stories are published by a mixture of words and pictures. In my point of view, both elements are equally important, and we should always use them together to produce an appealing and comprehensible passage.