Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffice congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Some commentators argue that expenditure should be spent on the erection of train and subway lines to reduce traffic jams, while others insist on building new and wider roads. Much as I am in favour of the former idea, I will still take both arguments into consideration in this essay. On the one hand, the improvement of roads to solve the traffic congestion problem is undoubtedly a worthy aim of any government. Firstly, the road system is inadequate to cope with the increasing number of vehicles, especially in city centres. For example, numerous people have to commute farther to work as a result of the expansion of metropolises, so creating more roads to enlarge the traffic flow is necessary. Secondly, the rise in the number of vehicles is also a pressing issue of the outskirts. Therefore, building interstates possibly helps drivers not to have to confront the growing volume of traffic. On the other hand, I believe that constructing new train and subway lines is a much more effective solution to the problem of traffic congestion. One reason is that public transport helps to protect the environment. To demonstrate, there are tons of exhausting fumes released into the atmosphere on a daily basis, which can be reduced by public transport. The other reason is that building train and subway lines is a more practical approach to conduct. To explain, there is a shortage of available space for new or wider roads in cities. In conclusion, although the erection of more and wider roads contributes to the reduction of traffic congestion, it seems to me that public transport as train and subway lines should also be supported owing to their environmental friendliness and practicality.