Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is obvious fact that traffic congestion become a serious problem around world. For group of people constructing broad and additional roads is a solution, while other claim that government should spend money on manufacturing train and subway lines to overcome this problem. On the one hand, there are clear reasons why the extension and construction of new roadways can decrease the amount of traffic. Firstly, the available roads are not wide enough to serve the quantity of vehicles on the way. It leads to traffic jams, especially in cities with high level of population. Secondly, if more roads constructed well, people have choice to use another route and avoid traffic congestion. However, better and comfortable roads can encourage people to buy cars and traffic disorder will increase in short periods. Contrarily, there are also many evidence why government must spend budget on train and subway lines, to tackle traffic jams. Primarily, trains speed greater than buses or cars so population generally prefer a train to a car, mainly employees. Existing roads to some extend will be free from traffic congestion. Moreover, in cities, there is not sufficiently land for building or extending roads. In comparison, a subway and train network manufactures underground and extra land is unnecessary. To sum up, constructing new and broad ways reduces traffic but it is a temporary solution as better roads encourage people to acquire private vehicles. I totally agree that government must allocate funds to train and subway sphere rather than investing money on roads.