Some people support agricultural developments, such as factory farming and scientific creation of fruits and vegetables. Others oppose this view.

Scientists are looking for various methods such as factory farming to improve the quality and quantity of agricultural products. While some people support scientific methods of cultivation, others oppose them. In my opinion, these methods will increase the quantity of the produce; however, its quality will be affected. Farmers can significantly increase their yield by adopting scientific methods of cultivation. As population increases, the demand for food products also increases. The only way to meet this need is to increase production. Since conventional methods of farming are not very effective, modern methods like factory farming are the need of the hour. They help to increase yield and make food products available to people all over the world. Scientific methods also increase the shelf life of agricultural products. Consequently, many seasonal fruits and vegetables are now available throughout the year. Scientists have even managed to grow cold climate fruits like apples and grapes in the warm tropics. On the flip side, scientific farming may have a negative impact on the quality of the products. Animals raised in factory farms are often given steroids and antibiotics to grow faster. When people consume the meat of these animals, these chemicals also enter their body. Another source of controversy is the cultivation of GM crops. They are drought resistant and pest resistant and give excellent yields. However, even scientists are not sure whether they are fully safe for consumption. To conclude, modern methods of farming certainly increase yield and as such the adoption of such practices are required to meet the growing demand for food products. However, quality of these products is certainly a cause of concern. It will be great if scientists manage to address those concerns.