With internet improvements, people can share views or opinions on certain goods or services that they have purchased. Is this a good or a bad thing? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few years there has been a dynamic shift in the ways people shop for the products as well as provide their reviews on both experience and the quality. Earlier, the only platform for the feedback customers had was the shopkeeper or the contact centre, if any. With advancements of the technology and internet revolution, the customers are closer to each other than before and can provide their reviews on various online platforms which has its own share of pros and cons. Let us discuss both the aspects in below paragraphs. To begin with, let us shed some light on the advantages of the growing trend of providing the feedback. First and foremost, the primary benefit of providing the reviews online is to let the company know what people think of their product. To explain, the platform can be an easier way to complaint against a product or service which buyer consumed and is not satisfied. These channels can be an alternative of taking a legal route as none of the parties would like to go to the court if matter can be sorted easily. To cite an example, CEO of a renowned British consumer goods company, in one of the interviews published by International Journal of Marketing and Sales, accepted the fact that there is approximately 60% decrease of law suits since last three years, against company after the management of company agreed to be listed on the major review platforms In addition, the other key benefit of the reviews is that prospective buyers can go through the feedback provided by previous buyers and make an informed decision. To elaborate, this helps in bringing transparency in the ecosystem where people learn from other's experience and buy the product. The company also have access to these review platforms where they can go through the feedback provided by the customers and strive to bring improvements in the product. They can always notice the trend of increased positive ratings in order to visualise the impact of latest modifications in the product. To exemplify, 80% of the respondents in a survey conducted by Unilever Netherlands in 2018 in the United States with a sample size of 500 customers revealed that they always go through the reviews on any review platform before making any buying decision. On the contrary, this phenomena has its own disadvantages. Primarily, the review platforms charge money from the companies in order to get them enlisted on the platform, but not all businesses are able to afford the fees. To substantiate, the bigger organizations have a specific budget allocated to such expenses whereas the smaller companies are unable to pay such a money and are left behind. Since these organizations are not present on the review sites, they are often ignored and the business goes to the rich competitor. To illustrate, a research conducted by 'The Washington Post' in 2018, in the United States, on three hundred small and mid sized businesses revealed that 80% of the business owners agreed that people are increasingly trusting the reviews online due to which their sales are going down. Furthermore, sometimes there is a risk that the reviews on such platforms are biased towards a specific company. To clarify, there are instances when a product company owns a stake in the review platform. In such cases it is highly unlikely for a platform to maintain a neutral instance which does not promotes healthy business environment. To exemplify, there were certain law suites filed in courts of the United States where the company with financial holding in one of the review sites was accused of tampering with reviews and review ratings despite of the inferior product quality. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that the review sites have provided a platform where customers can complain about their negative buying experience and can also form a community to provide their product reviews which helps other potential buyers. At the same time the platforms can be misused by the organisations that have spending power or have an ownership of the company. Hence, the need is to maintain proper regulatory checks and balances so that the technology advancements can be used to promote a healthy business environment.