Some people believe children should participate in team sports instead of individual sports.

Sporting activities have a plethora of benefits for children. Some people thus assert taking part in team sports is more advantageous for students. I, however, disagree with this notion and believe partaking in individual sports teaches children to be independent and more competitive which is by far more beneficial for them. One aspect which illustrates the benefit of participating in individual sports for children can be identified as independence. If youngsters are encouraged to participate in these sports, there will be no teammate to help them, forcing them to rely on their own skills and competency, which in turn teaches them how to accomplish tasks independently. For instance, a paper published by Arman Kazemi, a world-renowned psychologist, revealed that 79 percent of adolescents who had partaken in individual activities such as swimming, wrestling, and martial arts, are more successful in completing daily tasks by themselves when they grow up. This highlights the positive effect of individual sports in acquiring independence. Another line of thoughts suggests individual sports help students to be more competitive. Children who play these types of sports have no helping hand to cover their weaknesses, allowing them to identify and develop their weaknesses, which in turn leads them to achieve a higher degree of proficiency. These students thus will be always at the zenith of their performance and competitiveness. Statistics of a study conducted by the Yale University in 2017, for example, acknowledge that an overwhelming majority of school teenagers who play individual sports have a higher competitive morality compared to their peers. All in all, this essay has clearly shown that participating in individual sports teaches school-age children how to be more competitive and independent, both of which are vital in our era; thus, I completely disagree with the notion that suggests encouraging students to take part in group activities.