some people argued that advertisement encourages us to buy the thing we do not need. Some said they inform us about new products which improve our lives.

It is true that growing business and cultural contacts are part of the modern process of globalisation. While some people mourn the loss of national identity which they believe occurs as a result of this process, I disagree with that view on the basis that it is important to embrace change and accept new realities. The expansion of business and cultural exchanges across the world is a positive feature of contemporary life. Companies have broken into new markets by doing market research and taking into consideration local differences in consumer demands and preferences. They introduce new products without dismissing traditional ideas. The appearance, for example, of McDonald’s fast food outlets in Malaysia, China or Vietnam is not incompatible with the success of restaurants serving time-honoured cuisine. Such innovations do not necessarily mark the disappearance of traditional ways of life and to accept new customs is to extend choice for every consumer. Thus, it is an exaggeration to maintain that these developments will lead to the loss of a strong sense of identity in countries. For example, people in many former colonial nations have embraced change, but they still proudly preserve traditional cultural traits. In India, English - the language of the former colonial power - is widely spoken, but this has not led to the disappearance of local languages or indigenous cultural practices. Therefore, joining modern culture does not always mean that national or local customs have to be abandoned. On the contrary, enforced isolation from trade and cultural contacts with other countries will have the inevitable consequence of withdrawal from all the changes taking place globally. In conclusion, I would argue that the growth of contacts in commerce and culture is a positive development which will not destroy national identities.