Some people argue that Universities should accept an equal number of male and female students for all courses.

It is argued by some people that an equal number of students from both genders should be accepted in all courses by universities. However, I completely disagree with this viewpoint. At the outset, in spite of empowering women, there is a certain drawback of this approach. People advocate that having an equal number of genders in various courses, females could be empowered significantly, especially in the male-dominant societies. Because in such part of the world, equal female participation could lead to well educated females and good career opportunities for them. Nonetheless, despite its potential benefits, it seems to me that this approach is not a workable solution for the upliftment of women in the society. Due to the social perception, in such universities, it would not be easier to fill the reserved seats for the feminines. On the other hand, various other methods could be adopted by governments such as awareness campaigns for the empowerment of female members. Moving on, firstly this trend would inculcate a sense of discrimination amongst brilliant male students. If, despite having good merit scores, they are not allowed to take their desired courses, they would think that the system is unfair. Such thinking would lead to a disastrous life in the case of their education and further their careers as a result. Secondly, the same number of genders in tertiary education seems an impractical idea. It would not be possible to fill the vacant seats in higher education by both genders equally because certain courses are preferred by certain sexes. To cite a real-world example, in various countries, engineering subjects are chosen by males, while nursing courses are by females. Given this situation, these seats would remain vacant. This further leads to the third demerit that is the economic loss of Universities. As admitting a huge number of students is one of the main sources of the income for any institutes, it would be an uphill task to manage the expenses, if they remain deprived of admissions. In conclusion, the equal number of males and females in the university study is advocated by some people. Nevertheless, all the negative outcomes of this thought process are the main cause of my disagreement.