Some people argue that school should no longer be necessary because children can obtain all the information that they need form the internet. They can learn and be educated at home.

Some people believe that school is no longer necessary for children, because the Internet can educate them instead. I completely disagree with this idea, because only in school can children have the opportunity to make friends and learn from highly-trained educators. One reason I believe that school is necessary for all students is because in school, they can make new friends. In fact, for many students, school is the only chance that they have to interact with their peers. During the day, they work on math projects together, play on the same volleyball team in gym class, and eat lunch together in the cafeteria. Specifically, when I was a high-school student, I joined the Model United Nations club at school. I made many close friends with whom I even took an overnight trip to Boston University; we spent that entire weekend together. In addition to making new friends at school, students can only learn from professional educators in a traditional, in-person school. These specially-trained teachers have a lot of experience. They know how to diversify their teaching methods and assess students’ knowledge. In fact, in order to earn a Bachelor’s Degree in Education from the University of Delaware, a prospective teacher needs to complete 50 hours of supervised teaching. Additionally, she needs to submit a portfolio of 10 high-quality lesson plans that adhere to national teaching standards. Again, on the Internet, there is no way to find an educator with this level of training. In conclusion, I disagree that schools have become unnecessary because of the Internet; in fact, students can make lifelong friendships and learn from highly-trained professionals in a school setting.