Some people argue that historic building should be preserved in their original forms. Others arguethat this is both inadvisable and impossible.

There is a lot of controversy surrounding the practice of capital punishment across the world. Although the death penalty does have some benefits, I am of the opinion that it is not appropriate for a civilised society. There are several positive aspects associated with the application of the death penalty for extreme criminal cases. First of all, the death penalty could be considered to be the ultimate form of justice. For example, in the case of families who have had a loved one murdered, they might feel that true justice can only be found in taking the life of the murderer. Secondly, killing a convicted criminal is the most effective way of keeping people safe from people who have committed heinous actions. There are probably thousands of cases wherein murderers have completed their prison sentences or received parole and have killed again. However, the death penalty has significant drawbacks. First and foremost, capital punishment is a tool of the government which is not always used on guilty people. In the United States alone, over 300 executed apparent criminals have later been proven innocent. It should also be acknowledged that capital punishment has been used on political prisoners and for actions that are no longer considered crimes such as holding particular religious beliefs. Furthermore, capital punishment has major issues from an ethical standpoint. Capital punishment is nothing more than state-sanctioned murder because no man or government has the right to ‘play God’ and take a life. In conclusion, while the death penalty does have some advantages, it is clear that it can be misused and is immoral. Therefore, I believe that it should not be a part of the justice system.