Some people argue that formal education should start for children as early as possible, while others think that it should not start until 7 years of age.

Opinions differ as to whether children should take formal education early or after the age of seven. In my view, I believe 7 is ideal for children to begin formal schooling. It is understandable why people say that the young should go to school as early as possible. One reason is that many parents want their children to finish statutory education earlier. They assume that by going to school before 7, their children would be able to pursue higher education 1 or 2 years sooner and thus, get ahead of other people in terms of studying. In Vietnam, many families have their children skipped early childhood education with hopes that kids could enroll in university when they are 16. But, the number of families have succeeded is still limited. However, I side with those who think that children should start formal schooling after they get to the age of 7. One reason to support my standpoint is that most children can only approach academic education when they are 7 or above. This is because their ability to receive and process information is not fully developed before 7 years of age. Therefore, preschool education is there to teach children the very first steps of academic learning that allows them to quickly understand lessons of higher levels. If parents choose to abort early childhood education, their children may not have the studying skills resulting in poor academic performance. In fact, surveys say that 30 percent of children in grade 1 who are in the age group of 4 to 6 fall behind in their study, while other 7-year-old peers have great performances in examinations. In conclusion, I assert that formal education should only start when children are at least 7 as their cognition is fully developed and ready for high-level lessons.