In some countries, young people at the age of 18 are considered adults and can drive a car, vote and get married, while other countries don't allow it. What age do you think is the best to be considered an adult? Give reasons and examples.

It is a commonly held belief that individuals should be above 18 to be considered as adults. However, some countries approve that 18 is enough to participate in mature activities. In my opinion, I believe people merely become adults when they are at least 20. To begin with, eighteen is still counted as the age of teenagers. As the word ‘teenagers’ suggests, young people who are in the age group of eighteen to nineteen are only considered as adolescents. And, since adolescence is the time when young people still need supervision from older people, it is obvious that the young can only reach maturity if they are no longer in the teenage period. They, therefore, cannot be called adults until they reach twenty which is out of the teenage range. Another reason is that, from eighteen to twenty, people have just experienced two years of higher education environment which prepares them for adulthood. This stage, of course, is still a preparation of becoming adults. At the first two years of college, students are taught not only academic lectures but also fundamental social and living skills to develop their responsibilities as a grow-up. After some college years, most people will have a complete insight into maturity. They will then become more responsible for their decisions and actions. For example, when people choose to violate the traffic laws, they are aware of the consequences and ready to take punishments. This is when young people finally turn into adults who are free to take any actions as they wish and prepared for the outcomes. In conclusion, I assert that twenty is the best age for a young person to be considered as an adult.