Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people believe that judicial discipline should not be practiced while others feel that this form of judgement should continue. I am of the opinion that capital punishment should remain as some crimes committed are too vile and should not be let off lightly. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of having a death sentence. The downside of having capital punishment would be that criminals would not be able to atone for their wrongdoings. Sometimes, violent acts of crime could have been committed in the heat of the moment or in self-defence, and sentencing someone to the gallows denies the person of the opportunity to turn over a new leaf and start afresh. In addition, citizens should be motivated to behave well not based on fear, but with grace and kindness. On the other hand, having the capital sanction in place sends a strict warning to deter everyone from committing heinous acts. If society were to punish its criminals lightly, it would be sending a message to its citizens that they can get away with committing crime. This would be wrong and would create an unsafe environment for all, as people might do bad things to one another knowing that the consequences are light. Furthermore, some cases are so horrific that only execution is justified. In conclusion, legal punishment by death should remain and should not be removed in order to stop people from acting on violent crimes. Although it could be argued that this could repudiate someone of the opportunity to change, but such cases rarely happen. Therefore, the death row should remain to ensure order and stability in our society.