Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

There is a widely held view among people that death sentence would be imposed on criminals engaging in violence while others are of the opinion that execution is not suitable for the modern society and benevolent properties of human being. I agree with the view that we should carry out lenient yet severe punishment on violent prisoners rather than use this kind of harsh sentence. On the one hand, it is beneficial to execute the law breakers in terms of finance and specific examples. Firstly, putting prisoners in confinement for a long time is far more money-wasting than giving them a verdict of death penalty. Secondly, a sensational crime, in which a criminal commits to assassination or genocide, should be put under the maximum punishment in order to set an educational illustration for other citizens, from which deters them from engaging in such outrageous delinquency. On the other hand, I truly believe that we do not have the right to take away anyone’s precious life, the survival right is the ultimate prerogative of mankind. Additionally, we should also take into consideration the extenuating circumstances and miscarriage of justice, which makes people face execution while being wrongfully convicted. To illustrate, there are a significant number of women who have to resort to violence to protect themselves from being sexually abuse, and the self-defence is totally accepted in honor of humanity. Last but not least, we should also pave the way for the criminals, especially juvenile delinquents, to rehabilitate in society compared to ending their lives at such an early stage. In conclusion, despite some benefits of capital punishments, I think those who are accused of violent crime should be entitled to reintegrate into our community and their relating cases should be carefully reconsidered before official conviction.