Some peolpe think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of university?

Universities provide a large amount of diversity in their education system. Some try to gain the particular knowledge and skills which will help them to grow in their workplace, but some believe that diversified knowledge can open their way to lot of opportunities. This essay will describe the views on both kinds of people and my views on the functioning of the university. Gaining knowledge and skills in a particular subject helps to finish the work in a very limited amount of time. As we focus more on a single topic, we go deep into that subject which helps us to know all kinds of pros and cons related to that particular work. For example, according to a research, 96% of the IT companies in Bangalore tends to hire people with minimum two years of experience because they hire them for a particular work in a project. So being skilful in a field help them do a work in a very less time and with a great quality output. University is made to educate students and provide them a degree, so people must be given access to whatever knowledge they choose to gain. Not only the education but the degree given by the University opens up a lot of opportunities to move ahead in the future. For example, according to a research, ninety percent of the B. Tech students in India, regardless of their specialization, end up working in an IT industry and then find themselves suitable to go for MBA. So regardless of the future aspects, knowledge must be accessible to everyone on their own choice. I believe, the University should give access to all kinds of knowledge to everyone. It is the choice of the people how they would like to use the knowledge gained. If they want to work on it, they will be fruitful in their workplace. And for those who want to seek all kinds of opportunity, it will be helpful for them as well. Knowledge is meant to be gained, and it should not be restricted by any means.