Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

We are living in an age when many of us are easily able to see the celebrities in the media. Children those who are watching it can have a great impact on their activities. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. Children are often under the impression that those who are on TV must be very admirable. So they are enthusiastic to see the famous people on television and try to impersonate them. This has no negative effect if the celebrity is a dignified or exemplary person. For instance, Obama, the President of the Unites States have so many followers throughout the world and children are one among them. And it is good if they imitate him because Obama is a person of good morality. In contrast to this, in the means of mass communication, not all the famous stars have good personalities. There are some who are controversial and have harsh statements to keep their popularity. Indeed, some well known people have received more attention for their misuse of drugs and alcohol than for their successes on the stage or in sports. There is a worry when the kids try to mimic them. So it's the responsibility of the parents to keep an eye on about what their offsprings are seeing. Weighing up both sides of the argument, celebrities have an influence on children. It is important that children be taught to critically evaluate what they see in the media so that they can form a more realistic view of society, acceptable behaviour, and indeed themselves.