some parents think its good to have their children mobile phones, others disagree?

Advancement in technology comes with its dependence on it; a prevailing one is children having mobile phones. While a section of parents thinks it is okay for children to have mobile phones, others stand against it. This essay will argue why giving mobile phones to children is entirely necessary despite the potential risks. Parents have always been wary of allowing their children to have a mobile phone. They are justifiably worried about their children being exposed to a huge amount of irrelevant and explicit data at a young age. Consequently, parents naturally fear the online world and feel protective of their children. Furthermore, there have been recorded instances where online predators have successfully altered their behaviour and lured children in carrying out illicit activities. These few instances have bolstered existing fears in parents that mobile phones are not required and potentially dangerous for their children. Despite the few risks associated with giving mobile phones to children, the idea that they are unnecessary is completely flawed. Nowadays, children indulge in a lot of activities outside of school, mobile phones make it easy for parents to track and contact them whenever required. Moreover, hundreds of educational applications are available for children to learn from. A recent study from Harvard University has shown that children aged between eight to thirteen years learn things forty percent faster on mobile devices than classrooms because these applications provide a personalized experience. Therefore, the idea that children should not have mobile phones is ill-formed because it can potentially slow down the technological growth of a child. To conclude, parents who are against their children having mobile phones have a flawed understanding of technology and underestimate the exposure and access they provide to children. In my opinion, embracing technology is the need of the hour and thus, parents should allow their children to keep mobile phones.