Some parents offer their school age children money for each grade(mark) they get in school. Do you think is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers

Money is an essential commodity to humans. It is not only used as a means for buying and selling, it can also be used to secure one’s future. In today’s world many parents offer their young one’s money for each of the high marks they were able to achieve in class while some parents are of the opinion that it isn’t necessary because they feel that’s what they ought to do and it’s not necessary to offer these young one’s monetary benefit. In my opinion I think young ones needs to be offered monetary benefits for two important reason which I will discuss in this essay. First of all, monetary benefit serves as a source of motivation for this young ones to concentrate in school. Knowing they would be offered money for this high grade helps these young ones to focus on their studies in school. This in turn helps these young ones to pass their exams in flying colors. For example, in my basic two class my parent noticed that I don’t concentrate in class as was reported by my teachers. This affected my grades seriously because I’m always come with an average grades in class. My parent then resorts to giving me money for every high grades I was able to achieve. In no time I began to concentrate in class, and this impacted on my grade. Because after the exam I was among the top three in terms of grade that finished the second term of basic two. As my parent noticed the effect of this monetary benefit they promised me that they’ll continue to do that so long I keep turning out such grades. This motivated me throughout my high school days and it was reflected in my final WAEC exam. I had all distinctions in my paper. As you can see monetary benefits for young ones can help in motivating them to concentrate in class and in turn affect their grades positively. Another reason is that monetary benefits can help a young child to imbibe a saving culture. Many young ones been paid these stipends by their parent for their good grades in school often quickly save this money and this helps them to inculcate the habit of saving, which in turn helps them when they reach adulthood. My own example demonstrates this to be a reality. During these years my mother pay me for doing well in school I often try as much to save most of these money. By the time I was done with my high school, I needed to get a laptop, with no time I was able to get it with the money I saved when I was in high school. This saving culture I was able to imbibe then also helped me when I started working because when I got my first job I wasn’t paid much. In spite of this, I was still able to save from the little I got from the job. This experience taught me that this money given to me by my parent for good grades achieved back then, helped to imbibe a good culture in me which later helped me in my adulthood. In sum, though some parent may oppose this idea, giving money to young ones is a very positive act. Not only does it improve the concentration of these young ones, in turn making them do well in school, it also helps to imbibe a saving culture in them. Every parent should give this method a try so as to reap the benefits that comes from it.