A lot of charities and organisations have to publicize their activities by setting up a number of days to name the special days like National Children's day and National non smoking day why do they do so? What are the effects?

Naming days and converting them into special days is an amazing tool in the hand of charities and organisations to advertise their activities. Majorly they tend to do this to raise funds, and such ideas help people to come together. Most of the organisations, which are basically non profit organisations, try to raise funds by giving special names to days. By naming days like National Non Smoking Day, organisations try to catch the attention of masses. This publicity not only attracts more people but also they get information about the work of these organisations and charities. Consequently, people start contributing to their causes. For instance, an organisation named Bing Human collected record amount of 3 million in a day by using these kind of publicity stunt in India last year. The prime effect of naming days could be seen on collective efforts made by societies on these special days. This makes people to think about the same thing, in other words, it sync the thought process of people which bring them together, if not physically, at least mentally. Although it is a kind of marketing tool, it brings people together to work against society evil or to commemorate some historical moments. For example, on Mother's day, every single person on this earth tries to do something for his/her mother. Therefore, it makes a positive impact on the society by bringing them on a same page. To conclude, charities and organisations' prime reason behind naming days could be raising fund; however, it creates a positive impact on the people of a nation by attracting their attention towards the same topic.