Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

In today’s world, traffic and pollution are a huge obstacle to overcome in every nation. Despite the claims of some, I feel that an increase in the cost of petrol is certainly not a better method to deal with such issues. This essay explains why this is a bad idea and suggests possible alternative measures. Increasing the petrol price burdens the citizens in an enormous way, especially to the ones those who earn a low income. This approach only limits their freedom to travel as the transportation cost might also increase. In India, for instance, everything relies on transport and the revenue of the country is mostly dependent on it. This income will be disturbed if people cannot afford to pay for the fuel. Make sure you. Clearly, this is not a viable solution to the pollution and traffic issues. There are other ways to resolve these complications. The government should encourage carpools and improve the public transportation. People should be aware of different ways they can travel together, thereby not causing any kind of traffic issue. Canada, for example, is encouraging their citizens to utilize carpools whenever possible. This way, the number of vehicles allowed on a congested road can be controlled. People will start using public transport when the amenities are improved. So, the authorities should take a step towards it. As a result, less carbon dioxide will be released into the air thereby reducing the pollution. If these procedures are strictly followed by everyone, then the nations can see great results in eradicating the traffic congestion and having a pollution-free environment. In conclusion, instead of increasing the price of the fuels, other measures like improving transportation facilities and promoting carpooling should be encouraged in order to overcome the traffic and pollution issues.