Some parents are worried about the increasing level of violence on TV, videos games & other types of entertainment for children’s leisure. How does this affect children? How do you think the problem can be tackled?

Over the past few decades, there has been a dramatic surge in violence showcased not only on television, but also in video games and other sources of entertainment which were initially created for providing entertainment during free time. However, it has done more bad than good, and affected several children, and there is a need to come up with ways to tackle the ongoing problem. Through this essay, I would like to draw the attention of the reader on both the consequences as well as methods to curb the same. Countless sources of entertainment affect children in multiple ways, be it physical, psychological, or physiological. Firstly, prolonged exposure to sources of entertainment may have detrimental impacts on the retina of the human eyes. Moreover, having exposure to high volumes through ear plugs may cause permanent damage to the ear drums. Secondly, an individual might develop ways to imitate physicality by involving himself in bouts at schools. Thirdly, it could impair relationships with, loved and peer ones by reducing communication skills and lead to decreased productivity and problem solving skills by making an individual indolent, lethargic and making him short-tempered. In some cases, it could cause alteration in brain structure by expanding or shrinking certain portions of it. Finally, if violence involves raping of women or threat to civil liberties, children might become exposed to cruelty and brutality at a young age when all they deserve is love, care, education and lively atmosphere. However, it is never too late and there are several ways by which the problem could be solved. Firstly, parents should monitor the activities of their children and ensure they spend an extremely limited time on electronic gadgets, and television. Secondly, they should motivate and boost their children in expatiating them on long-term benefits of outdoor sports or making them realize the true power and potential of education. Finally, in certain situation, they can eliminate sources which were originally intended to get rid of ennui, and sometimes should resort to punish them by not buying their favourite sport(s) equipment, or newest shoes launched in the market. To conclude, not only children can succumb to several sources of violence, but any individual of any age group can become victim of addiction without even realizing. Hence, it is important for each one of us to keep track of timings spent on these sources and watch out for one’s own demeanour at all places and time.