Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Currently, the world is in a fast growing digital phase, where most activities are carried out mostly on the online space. There have been strong views from people that websites built for human interactions and relations have a harmful effect on users and their environments at large. Though I largely disagree with this perspective. Firstly, In the 18th century, relating with people not in your vicinity was an extremely difficult task, as quick modes of communication were not present. This is a vivid gap that has been sealed in recent times with the aid of these social web platforms. Now human inter-relation is on the rise, which has huge advantages. For example, economic growth is a direct effect of the use of this site, as business deals can be made and closed on them. Additionally, advertisement and brand visibility is also a benefit enjoyed from employing the use of these networks. However, amidst the numerous advantages that prevail, we cannot totally ignore the downside to the use of this networking platforms. Fraud is one of the major disadvantages of using social sites, as anyone can assume any personality in order to carry out illicit activities. For example, internet fraudsters use the web to interact with members of the opposite sex, spark up fake romantic passes and in the long run, extort them of their monies and personal effects. These can lead to psychological and emotional damage on the side of the victim. There are a large amount of individuals from various nations involved in such dark practices. In conclusion, though in the midst of all the prevailing negative effects of these networking sites, it is clear that the pros outweigh the cons.