Some parents and teachers think that children s behavior be strictly controlled While some think that children should be free to behave

Different schools of thought exist among teachers and parents about how children’s behaviour should be controlled. While some believe that there should be strict control, others are more lenient on the control. There are important reasons behind both these thoughts. Firstly, children do not have enough knowledge and awareness about their surroundings and do not anticipate and recognize the dangers that may ensue. Moreover, they are not capable of facing or handling such incident upon the occurrence of such unfortunate event. Secondly, as children grow up they are expected to have a certain accepted level of behaviour with kindness, respect, sympathy and decency. As not all children are alike, sometimes parents and teachers may have to resort to strict actions in order to discipline the child and carve a noble human being out of him or her. Therefore, it is reasonable for some people to think that strict control of behavior is important to keep them out of danger as well as to discipline and teach certain lessons of life. On the contrary, children are free thinkers and they have ample energy and curiosity that needs nurturing by letting them explore and experience the world outside without restrictions for them to learn the good, the bad and the ugly by and within themselves. For that to happen, they need more freedom to do and discover things on their own. But, that must be done with proper guidance and supervision with great care and attention. There are enough studies done world over to support that evidence. In conclusion, it is important to note that each child is unique in their knowledge, behaviour and attitudes, and the level of supervision and guidance they need in order to become a good human being varies accordingly. There is no “one way” to teach and discipline children. It must be done with great care and insight on to that particular child’s mentality and capability and appropriately to the particular situation.