Some parents and teachers think that children’s behavior should be strictly controlled. While some think that children should be free to behave.

It is argued whether parents and teachers should enforce strict control management on children’s behaviour or just let them behave freely. In my opinion, neither total freedom nor absolute oversight will benefit children; rather parents should monitor their conduct properly. On the one hand, too much restraint on children’s behaviour can affect the formation and development of some valuable abilities. Primarily, it will hurt the problem solving skill of children as this ability is cultivated and developed through trial and error. If parents and teachers put too much handle force on children, they will have no solutions for the problems they might face in future. It is more likely for them to consult their teachers and parents for suitable and effective solutions, which is the undesirable result of over dependence on others. Besides, children whose behaviours are highly controlled by parents and teachers may be restricted in imagination and creativity, which are essential to their academic performance and also the key to gain success in complicated tasks in the workplace in the future. However, it is not to say that children’s behaviour should not be monitored / supervised at all. Having no control restriction on children’s behaviour can lead to detrimental results. My primary concern is that children may fail to respect and obey laws and regulations and they may simply behave in the way they like. For example, children may misbehave by engaging in activities such as habitual lying or littering just to entertain themselves without realizing that they have already violated some regulations. On the contrary, if the parents and teachers discipline their children whenever they go wrong, they are more likely to become law-abiding adults or even contributing members of their community. In conclusion, I believe that both parents and teachers have an obligation to discipline, children’s behaviours and educate them in proper ways, rather than enforcing strict restriction or permitting absolute freedom.