Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.

Some people believe that some of advertising techniques are not appropriate in today's modern society. I completely agree that immoral advertisement oversteps boundaries and cause a threat to citizen's privacy. Firstly, overloaded advertising information will have a negative effect on people's daily life. For example, if someone go to on-line shopping website to research something they want to buy, some shops will catch the opportunity to send the message about products to the potential consumer. Consequently, people are distracted by useless advertisement information. It's a waste of time. Furthermore, the online shop sellers are not allowed to get the potential consumer's cellphone number. It is unethical to get others' personal information without any permission. As a result, it will cause troubles for others, such as blackmail calls. People won't feel secure if their personal information is used on purpose. Secondly, advertising is not always trustable. For example, everywhere people will notice advertisement posters that are too good to be true, such as losing 10kg in 30 days or getting taller with magic shoes. This type of advertising is unacceptable, as it encourages people to believe non-scientific things. Citizens won't take time time to consider how could they have balanced diet, work out and lose weight. Instead, they would prefer to trust advertisments. Our society will be full of lies, and not be trustable at all. To conclude, it is clear that moral and trustable advertising needs to be encouraged in people's daily lives. Otherwise, it would have a negative long-term effect on today's society.