Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

It is common these days to hear people talk about the rivalry between online media and newspapers. While some people think that traditional press will remain the most important source of news, I believe electronic articles and print newspapers will progress together to bring abundant news to the public. On the one hand, I accept that traditional newspapers will not go out of business regardless of the burgeoning trend of online news reading. Firstly, many publications has always acted as the face of certain organisations throughout its long history, and the ritual of enjoying a daily newspaper with a cup of coffee in the morning has been instilled in many generations. Secondly, unlike digital media, people do not need to get online to read breaking news of their choice, and this is really a plus point in many ways. Take inhabitants in rural areas, where Internet is not something ubiquitous compared with urban areas, as an example - they remain happy to catch up with the latest news at local newsstands. However, with more and more people from a wide variety of ages reading online news everyday, I believe media on the Internet has massive advantages to compete with traditional newspapers. The main benefit is its flexibility; correspondents deliver every piece of news 24/7 and anyone in the world can read the hottest headlines as long as they manage to get online. It is also difficult to refuse visual attraction of illustration from high quality images, sound effects and colourful animation attached with the central news. Another benefit of online news is its responsive capabilities which is supported by many social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Google, et cetera. It means that after reading an appealing article, a news reader could see comments from other netizens or share his or her own opinion to the online community. In conclusion, digital media on the Internet is increasingly becoming an essential source of the latest news for a large number of readers and I believe this electronic type of media will play as important a role as print newspapers have been thus far.