Some people believe that the death penalty can reduce crimes.

The argument, over whether capital punishment aids in restricting the crime rate or not, have not been settled yet. I completely agree with this notion not only because it saves society from those offenders who have completed their sentences, and terminate convict’s network with the outer world, but also gives a moral lesson to others. This essay will explore how these factors justify the death sentence as a way to control crime. Firstly, some offenders commits crimes after completing their sentences due to which the crime rate remains stagnant. This is to say, ex-convicts are unable to secure a better place in the society after leaving jail, and often get back to their criminal world because of the lack of effective rehabilitation system. If the death penalty were common, it would help to overcome the crime rate. Take an example of Abu Ramal, a Yemen rebel, who was the sole reason for igniting a civil war in the country after getting exonerated by the government. Thus, hanging to death is one a measure to control offences. Secondly, terrorists have a strong communication network with their gang, even from behind the bars. As some corrupt officials allow incarcerated criminals to operate their network from jail. For example, in Afghanistan, the country head of Al-Qaida was involved in orchestrating many terrorist activities in Kabul from jail. Hence, sentencing these prisoners a capital punishment helps in breaking the connection between criminals which ultimately reduces the crime rate. Finally, in order to curb the crime rate, capital punishment can be used as a tool to give a lesson to others to refrain themselves from such activities and abide by the law. Therefore, the fear of death in public is a must to control crime. To sum up, people may vary in their opinions; however, I agree that the death penalty is fully justified in terms of decreasing the crime rate by giving a moral lesson to the public, control re-offending and breaking the criminal network.