: Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

Thanks to technological advancements, the business world has adopted a wide array of approaches to advertising. Some of these methods such as text messages, handbills and posters interfere with our personal lives, putting us in harms way, and also, constitute environmental pollution. These methods are unlawful and unacceptable. Firstly, the manner and timing in which we receive adverts on our phones in the form of unsolicited text messages put our lives at risk. For example, my boss on his way to work one morning, was waylaid by some hoodlums who searched his vehicle and didn' t find any valuable. Just as they were about to set him free, a text message from his bank came into his phone. The thieves read the message - a commercial from his bank stating that they are giving personal loans to individuals who had a certain amount as balance in their account and that he qualifies for this loan - and asked him for his bank cards and the passwords. They withdrew every penny in the account. If this message hadn' t come in, my boss wouldn' t have lost this huge amount. In addition, our streets are littered with posters and handbills handed over to passersby by some local firms, who are soliciting for patronage from these people. However, because these people do not have needs for the goods and services advertised by these companies, they simply drop them on the roads. Some of these individuals, due to time constraint don' t even bother to read through these documents and the consequence is environmental degradation. In conclusion, some of the methods used in advertising are causing harm to us as individuals and to our society at large, and there is need for government to intervene to save the situation. To achieve this, government should make laws that will prohibit unwarranted and unsolicited adverts.