Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

Different methods of advertisement are used in common media and among them few are considered morally controversial and misleading. I agree with the criticism because the promotions made by companies, like tobacco and fashion industries, try to disguise social aspects, give partial information and try to trigger emotions of people to misguide their judgments. First, misusing the freedom of the media and advertisement industry, many companies and brands have started using inappropriate ways to convince the society in buying products. For instance, tobacco companies invest millions of dollars in promotion campaigns, which often include famous celebrities, to increase the number of smokers in our community in order to maintain the flow of their sale. Thus, add-making houses are paid heavily to make the catchy scenario for the people. Therefore, most of the advertisement makers try to introduce a concept that smoking is essential to be manly and someone special. Furthermore, to make the presentation even more realistic they might end up hiring a film or sports stars. As a result, people, especially youths, get distracted. Another feature of immorality could be seen in advertisements made by fashion and cosmetic industries. Fashion industries try to induce a specific pale zero size model image as criteria of an ideal body, which is why, in order to attain that many women, especially girls, end up in a psychological condition like anorexia nervosa or body dysmorphic syndrome. Nevertheless, academic excellence is also markedly affected by those deceptive advertisements.   Though there is no scientific evidence that a cream can make our complexion fair, this is a common scenario in an advertisement made by a beauty cream producers. Finally, hiding real ingredients used in a product and side effects of using it is a common practice in advertisement industries. How ambiguous and confusing it is when every brand claim to be the best!   Creativity and unique concept in advertisements should be used positively- in fact, to let the consumers make informed judgments, not to deceive them. In conclusion, I strongly agree that many advertisements we see or hear break the ethics and morality of our society. Also, the government ought to restrict certain features of freedom given to media, in particular to tobacco and fashion industries. Viewers should be presented with advertisements that are not unethical or inappropriate.