Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.

Nowadays, lots of different ways are being used by advertising companies to promote their products, however, a few of those are highly unacceptable. I completely agree with this point of view and following are the reasons to believe so. Firstly, we come across many advertisements these days, that use children as their target audience. Although, some of them succeed in leaving a positive impact on children's minds, but unfortunately, many of them have a negative effect on the process of brain development of youngsters. For example, the ad of tiger biscuits being aired on some Pakistani channels depicts that it is the sole source of energy. This compels the children to replace their meals with it, as the ad says that it is far more nutritious than the regular diet. Therefore, children are brainwashed to eat unhealthy food products. Secondly, the method of competition applied by certain advertisement companies is also intolerable. For instance, the never-ending war between mobile networking companies in Pakistan like Ufone and Telenor, can be very clearly seen in their promotions. Their ads contain, the content and language of ugly competition, showing one of them to be perfect and vice versa. Furthermore, this creates a sense of superiority among their users as well, which disrupts the harmony of society. To sum up, the methods used in marketing these days are a detriment to the society. On one hand, they distort the way children think, by making ads that effect their mental growth negatively. On the other hand, they create an undue clash between various advertising companies, which ultimately deteriorates the peace of society.