One of the most pressing problems facing the world today is overpopulation. What policies do you believe governments should adopt to address the causes and effects of this problem?

The growth of human population has been one of the most important problems many countries are facing today. This essay will explain the causes that contributes to this problem including poor family planning and lack of knowledge on the importance of birth controls, as well as its effects on our modern society. This essay will also discuss the policies the government must do to address this issue. Overpopulation can be seen in many parts of the world, particularly in developing countries like India and the Philippines. One of the main cause of overpopulation is the poor family planning in impoverished areas, particulary in rural parts of the world. This has results to the increased birth rates among many families because of their lack of knowledge in family planning. For instance, it is normal for rural families in the Philippines to have 3 or more kids because parents are not educated when it comes to family planning. Another cause is the unawareness on the importance of birth control which has resulted to the rise of teen pregnancies. Studies have shown that 6 out of 10 teenagers between 13-18yrs old are now sexually active. These teenagers are oblivous on the importance of birth controls and it can prevent them, not only from getting pregnant, but also from getting sexually transmitted disease. Teen pregnancies have been evident in reality shows that are being shown such as Teen Moms in MTV channel. Governments around the world should create policies that are thoroughly effective to minimize the growth of our population like proper dissemination of information regarding family planning should be implemented in every communities, both for urban and rural areas. Also, governments should work with local communities to provide easy access for birth controls. And lastly, Better sex education must also be taught in schools through proper guidance on the importance of birth controls. It is evident that humans are taking over the world for the past centuries due to lack of better knowledge in family planning and sex education. This essay did not only tackle the causes and effects of overpopulation, but as well as the strategies and guidelines the government must take to resolve this issue.