Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

Now-a-days, companies are using various new methods and techniques to advertise products and services. Some of which are questionable given their impact on the society. In this essay, I shall explain the implications of unacceptable and unethical advertising on the community, in my view. To begin with, there are many different ways businesses utilise to reach target customers, one of which is personalised marketing on the mobile devices. In this method, a firm displays commercials specific to the potential customer based on their interest and previous purchase history. So far, it has been considered the most effective as it brings a greater return on investment. However, it can be used for various wrong purposes. The "Facebook analytics" scandal, for example, is a great example where this practise was used for unethical political gains. Moving forward, these days, as children are viewing television more than ever, it is a fact, that companies are getting smarter about how they reach families via children. A vivid example of this is the "Milo" campaign in Australia. The aim of this campaign is to encourage children to play outdoors and drink Milo. As a result of this commercial, a study has found that young families are now spending slightly more time outdoor rather than indoors. In conclusion, by analysing the above scenarios, it can be argued that there are both positives and negatives of advertising practises, however, it can be seen clearly that the new methods are not only unacceptable but are also unethical. Hence, I strongly agree with the given statement.